Newcastle named as COVID-19 vaccine hub

Newcastle named as COVID-19 vaccine hub Main Image

29 January 2021

NSW Health has announced Newcastle will be included as one of the first eleven COVID-19 vaccine hubs in New South Wales.

These 11 vaccine hub hospitals also include the Royal Prince Alfred, Westmead, Liverpool, Hornsby, St George, Nepean, Wollongong, Coffs Harbour, Dubbo and Wagga Wagga.

The vaccine hubs will administer the vaccinations in phases, with phase 1a expected to begin from mid-February, administering the Pfizer vaccine.

Phase 1a prioritisation includes:

Frontline health workers including emergency health workers, critical care staff, COVID testing health staff and staff administering the vaccination.

Aged care and disability care staff and their residents

Quarantine and border workers

Phase 1b is expected to commence in mid-March. As more doses of the vaccine become available, phase 1b will be extended to the wider population, with those categorised as at-risk to be given priority.

The Federal Governments COVID-19 vaccine rollout strategy outlines the at-risk categories to consist of those:

Aged 80 and over

Aged 70-79

Other health care worker

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders aged over 55

Younger adults with underling medical conditions (including disability)

Critical and high risk workers including defence, police, fire, emergency services and meat processing

More information regarding the proposed COVID-19 vaccine national roll-out strategy can be found here: